New Food Stuffs Tried at Whole Foods Market, #88 Satsuma Tangerines

I was searching for a box of clementines at WFM, when I saw these interesting looking Satsuma Tangerines from California. If even possible, the fruit is juicier and sweeter than clementines. I ate several today. What can I say, the fruit looks pretty and it’s easy to peel. See my verdict while I go get another one. The rating goes 1 to 10 (10 being the best).

Satsuma Tangerines
Verdict: 10

Appearance: The fruit has a bright orange peel, comes with the stems and shiny green leaves, attached. I love that the orange segments are bite-size, seedless, and have very little pith.

Texture: The peel is loose and easy to separate. The segments are juicy!
Flavor: Sweet, slightly tart
Cost: $1.99 per pound at WFM
Health: Great source of Vitamin C and Vitamin A, and only around 40 calories

Recommendation: If you are looking for refreshing afternoon snack, I recommend that you eat them right out of the fridge. The fruit would also be a great addition to an autumn salad or right in the vinaigrette. There are a whole bunch of other varieties that are in season now, check out everything citrus on the Whole Story.
Resolution Stats: 18 new food stuffs tried, 87 more to go
Final Verdict: Perfect afternoon snack– healthy, sweet, refreshing, even pretty

4 responses to “New Food Stuffs Tried at Whole Foods Market, #88 Satsuma Tangerines

  1. I agree completely!

    My favorite winter salad is a chinese chicken salad with fresh satsumas

  2. Satsumas are my favorite fruit of the moment. I would love the recipe!

  3. Pingback: How to Make a Cocktails 2010 « Creative Delites; The Guide to All That's Healthy & Delicious Eats on NYC's Upper West Side

  4. Pingback: How to Make a Cocktails Healthy for 2010 « Creative Delites; The Guide to All That's Healthy & Delicious Eats on NYC's Upper West Side

Leave a Reply

